Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


July 24, 2012 > Filing period open for AC Transit Board of Directors

Filing period open for AC Transit Board of Directors

Submitted By Clarence Johnson

The filing period opened on Monday, July 16, 2012, for persons interested in being candidates in the November 6, 2012 general election for AC Transit's policy-making Board of Directors.

Three of the seven board seats are due for election. One represents a specific geographic ward spanning portions of both Alameda and Contra Costa Counties, one represents another in Alameda County and a third represents the entire District.

Alameda Portion: The entire city of Albany and the portion of the City of Berkeley that is generally north of Cedar Street, west of Oxford Street, south of Dwight Way and west of Telegraph Avenue.

Contra Costa Portion: The entire cities of El Cerrito, Richmond, San Pablo and the unincorporated areas of El Sobrante, Kensington and North Richmond within the District.

The entire cities of Emeryville and Piedmont and the portion of Berkeley that is generally south of Cedar Street and east of Oxford Street, north of Dwight Way and east of Telegraph Avenue. The portion of Oakland that is northwest of High Street (between the water and Foothill Boulevard), northwest of 35th Avenue, west of Brookdale Avenue, west of Coolidge Avenue, south of School Street and north of Champion Street/Lincoln Avenue.

The entire District.

The deadline to file for election to AC Transit's seven-member board is 5:00 p.m. on Friday, August 10, 2012. If an incumbent does not file for re-election by August 10, the filing deadline for that seat will be extended by five days as prescribed by the Election Code.

Candidates must be registered voters and reside in the area they seek to represent. For Alameda County residents, nomination packets may be obtained at the Registrar of Voters, 1225 Fallon Street, G-1 in Downtown Oakland (510) 272-6933. For Contra Costa County residents, contact that county's Elections Department, 555 Escobar Street in Martinez (925) 335-7800.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice