Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


December 20, 2011 > Local heroes honored

Local heroes honored

Submitted By Jeff Barbosa

Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) honored outstanding community heroes and organizations from throughout the 20th Assembly District during an Address and Awards Ceremony Thursday, December 15, at James Logan High School's Center for the Performing Arts, 1800 H Street in Union City. Wieckowski also reviewed his legislative accomplishments for his first year in the state Legislature, and highlighted priorities for the 2012 session.

"In my first year I was able to pass some critical bills for cleaning up hazardous sites to protect our environment," Wieckowski said. "I also worked to eliminate barriers to job creation with my Made in California package and partnered with local chambers of commerce to provide forums on how to put more Californians back to work. There is a lot of work to be done to maintain California's stature as a global leader in innovation. I am looking forward to working on a number of issues to stimulate our economy, preserve our environment and better serve those who are struggling in these difficult times."

Wieckowski honored key leaders in the 20th Assembly District who have dedicated themselves to improving the quality of life for local residents. "Each of these honorees has put in countless hours of their own time to help their neighbors," Wieckowski said. "They have stepped up to assist others and to make our community a better place to live and work."

The honorees include:

Traci Cross - Castro Valley Local Hero
Obray Van Buren - Hayward Local Hero
Makhan Singh Bains - Union City Local Hero
Shirley Sisk - Newark Local Hero
Rennu Dhillon - Fremont Local Hero
Joyce and Robert M. Shapiro - Pleasanton Local Heroes
Thelma Boac - San Jose Local Hero
Milpitas Firefighters IAFF Local 1699 - Milpitas Local Heroes
Avanzando (Newark) - Outstanding Organization Award
Citizens for Better Community - Community Partner of the Year
Jeevan Zutshi - Unity Award
One Child - Non-Profit of the Year
Steve Waterhouse - Distinguished Service Award

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice