Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


October 12, 2010 > Alameda County Teachers of the Year

Alameda County Teachers of the Year

Submitted By Office of Alameda County School Superintendent
Photos By Adriel Yee

The Alameda County Office of Education (ACOE) hosted its annual Teacher of the Year Award ceremony on October 8, honoring eighteen teachers from school districts throughout Alameda County. Over 250 people participated in a joyous evening celebrating Alameda County's finest teachers.

Livia Thomas, representing Fremont Unified School District and John Nolan, representing Alameda Unified School District, were selected as the county's Teachers of the Year and will move on to compete for the coveted state honor of California Teacher of the Year.

"I hope winning inspires the children in my school to know that they can do anything they set their minds and hearts to. I want to be a role model for my colleagues and inspire them to 'never give up.' Together we can find new and creative ways to inspire our children to do their very best." -Livia Thomas, Fremont Unified School District

"I am really amazed. Receiving the honor of Alameda County Teacher of the Year is a great opportunity to represent teachers in a positive way. I want to work to let the public know that there is a lot of great learning happening in their children's classrooms." -John Nolan, Alameda Unified School District

The following is a list of the 2010 district teachers of the year (in order by district):

Christopher Bates, Butler Academic Center, Alameda County Office of Education
John D. Nolan, Island High School, Alameda Unified School District
Anna Schooley, Redwood Alternative, Castro Valley Unified School District
Michelle Stanchina, Fallon Middle School, Dublin Unified School District
Lisa Pong, Tri-Valley ROP, Dublin
Tracy Lewis, Anna Yates Elementary School, Emery Unified School District
Livia Thomas, Grimmer Elementary School, Fremont Unified School District
Janay Shepherd, Mission Valley ROP, Fremont
Kevin Smith, Southgate Elementary School, Hayward Unified School District
Betty Hovenden, Junction Avenue Middle School, Livermore Unified School District
Michaelene McKelvey, Alvarado Middle School, New Haven Unified School District
Jessica Farrand, Milani Elementary, Newark Unified School District
Jessica O'Toole, Sequoia Elementary School, Oakland Unified School District
Lawrence Evans, Oakland Technical High School, Oakland Unified School District
Marla Silversmith, Amador Valley High School, Pleasanton Unified School District
Stacy Kaplan, John Muir Middle School, San Leandro Unified School District
Mary Styner, Eden Area ROP, San Leandro
Claire Nail, Hillside Elementary School, San Lorenzo Unified School District

Every year ACOE, honors, recognizes and celebrates Alameda County teachers' for their excellence in classroom instruction. The honor and significance of the award will be throughout the 2010/2011 school year.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice