September 21, 2010 > Hayward's "Castle" celebrates 100th year
Hayward's "Castle" celebrates 100th year
Submitted By Heather Mellon
You probably have noticed the Hayward home that looks like a castle on Second Street, which locals commonly refer to as "The Castle." On August 28th, over 150 Hayward Area Historical Society members and friends celebrated the home's 100th anniversary, with many spirited attendees dressed in medieval costumes. Party goers were treated to private tours given by the Wiese family, the current owners of the home. Entertainment was provided by the McBride Irish Dancers performing traditional dances, and live music by Darcy Noonan and her Celtic band.
The Castle boasts many interesting stories from its 100 year history. First built in 1910 by William Conners, The Castle was a gathering place for Hayward's high society. Conners was a retired miner from Canada, and lived at the house with his wife, step-son, father-in-law and 2,000 ducks! He acquired the ducks in a short-lived effort to become a poultry farmer. In the 1940s, then owner George Luce converted The Castle into several separate apartment units, and in the 1960s the State Division of Highways tried to tear down The Castle to make room for a new freeway. The Williams family, who owned The Castle at that time, spent thousands of dollars in court fighting to save it while they continued to restore it. Patricia Wiese and her late husband, Robert, purchased the home in the 1980s and spent much time and energy restoring The Castle to the mint condition it is now in.