Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


June 25, 2008 > Gaffey tosses no-hitter in MSJLL Red Sox postseason win

Gaffey tosses no-hitter in MSJLL Red Sox postseason win

Submitted By MSJLL parents
Photos By MSJLL parents

Mark Gaffey saved his finest pitching effort for the post-season, hurling a no-hitter as the Mission San Jose Little League Red Sox knocked out the Centerville-American champions, 6-0, in District 14 Tournament of Champions (TOC), Minor League action on Sunday, June 22.

Gaffey fanned eleven and was just one base runner, who reached on a walk, away from a perfect game. Gaffey's battery mate, Kyle Dean, gunned down that base runner at second on a steal attempt to enable Gaffey to face the minimum number of batters, eighteen, over his six innings of work. Defensive help came from left fielder, Charlie Vanek, as he made a spectacular over-the-shoulder catch. Dean also made a fine play while playing shortstop to help preserve the no-hitter, and he added a pair of singles on offense.
Vanek went three for three at the plate while Aaron Lethers, Raghav Chari and Brandon Falk each ripped a pair of singles. The Red Sox were to play in the semifinals Tuesday, June 24, with results unknown at press time.

In Juniors TOC action, the MSJLL A's rolled to an 11-1 win over another Centerville-American champion in first-round play on Saturday, June 21.

The big blow came from Chris Gaines, who raced for an inside-the-park home run and drove in three runs. Sam Sanches doubled, singled and added a pair of RBI's, while Reid Marion singled and doubled, to plate another run. Cole Lewis ripped a single and also scored. Gaines and Matt Eike teamed up to limit their opponents to one hit with Eike pitching four scoreless innings.

MSJLL All-Star teams begin All-Star action this weekend, June 28-29, with District 14 play. The following are the selections for this year's teams.

Minors 9 and 10 year old Gold team: Alex Cheng, Cole Furukawa, Adam Hancock, Mark Hu, Alan Jin, Shiv Kapur, Ryan King, Jason Kinner, Mudit Mittal, Ryland Mortlock, Marshall Munoz, Hari Subbaraj, Spoorthy Vemula, Kevin Zeng.
Manager: Russ Thacker. Coaches: Robert King and Chris Hu.

Minors 9-10 Blue team: Andrew Chang, Stanley Chiang, Kyle Dean, Chris Desiniotis, Brandon Falk, Gabriel Francisco, Mark Gaffey, Aaron Havard, Jonathan Lee, Aaron Lethers, Sam Lowrey, Nathan Pope, Aarsh Shah.
Manager: Kevin Dean. Coaches: Howard Lowrey and Mike Gaffey.

Minors 10-11 team: Mitchell Broadwin, Nathan Chang, Alex Chen, Dustin Chiang, Christian Flores, Ryan Henderson, Austin King, Karthik Kribakaran, Nick Mason, Cade Nauman, Matthew Tang, Jordan Terbeek, Jacob Walter, Aurick Zhou.
Manager: Eric Terbeek. Coaches: Kim Nauman and Nigel Chang.

Majors 11-12 team: Tylan Ahmed, Saad Azam, Mark Cho, Adam Curtis, Vikram Dharasker, James Gaffey, Darien Lo, Martin Padilla, Thomas Rodriguez, Arjun Sarkar, Zach Strand, Guhan Sundar, Varun Suresh, Cheyenne Walker.
Manager: Joe Facha. Coaches: Dennis Satariano and Dave Foster.

Juniors 13-14 team: Sammy Brown, Jeff Chu, Scott Dentinger, Ian Dickeson, Matt Eike, Kevin Finch, Brandon Fuhs, Chris Gaines, Dustin Koliner, Reid Marion, Vince Rojas, Sam Sanches, Patrick Yang.
Manager: Wayne Chung. Coaches: Len Sanches and Ed Hugo.

Seniors 15-17 team: Joey Cantrell, Austin Chen, Artie Duran, Scott Fong, Christopher Gonzalez, Eric Gwynn, Aaron Okano, Greg Oliveira, Nolan Preston, David Roche, Kevin Roche, Tyler Strand, Ethan Torrence.
Manager: Mark Rowell. Coaches: Alex Rowell and Frank Gwynn.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice