Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


June 18, 2008 > Poster and slogan winners honored

Poster and slogan winners honored

Once each year, in the midst of a scheduled Alameda County Water District (ACWD) board meeting, time is set aside to recognize and congratulate teachers and students who participate in the annual ACWD Water Conservation and Slogan Contest. This year, General Manager Paul Piraino welcomed the group on Thursday, June 5, explaining that the primary goal of the district is to preserve and protect local water resources. Educational efforts include classroom presentations, field trips, school theater programs, teacher training workshops, a mini-grant program, internet resources and water education materials and curricula.

ACWD Public Education Specialist Frank Jahn introduced honorees and their teachers before a crowded board room. Thirty-seven students from schools in Fremont, Newark and Union City were honored for their creativity in producing posters and slogans reminding residents of the Tri-City area of the importance of using water wisely. Winning entries appear in Alameda County Water District's (ACWD) 2008-2009 Water Conservation Calendar.

Emily Lin, a sixth grader at Alvarado Middle School in Union City, was the grand prize winner. Her drawing appears on the cover of the Water Conservation Calendar. Lisa DeSa, Lin's teacher, will receive a check for $100 to be used for a classroom project or field trip.

Lily Bhattacharjee, a third grader at Forest Park Elementary School in Fremont, and Anna Tang, a fifth grader at Gomes Elementary School in Fremont, were both first place winners. Their posters also appear prominently in the calendar. Each winner was congratulated by ACWD Board President John Weed. Winners received award certificates and gift certificates to a local store.

Winning slogans varied from admonitions such as: "Pay heed to use no more than you need" by Lisa Chen and Rhea Nayak's, "Wasting water is insane. Don't let it all go down the drain" to water saving tips such as, "When the sky starts pouring, let your sprinklers start snoring" by Ruchika Agrawal and Josh Bains, "Make sure there's no leak in the sink, or else there won't be any water to drink" and "Saving water rocks!" by Zachary Fullenwider.

The Poster and Slogan Contest was open to 1st-6th grade classrooms in the Fremont, Newark and New Haven Unified School Districts, as well as to private schools in the ACWD service area. More than 1,400 students submitted entries, representing more than 35 schools and 161 classrooms.

Poster Winners
Emily Lin, Alvarado Middle School (Mrs. DeSa); Lily Bhattacharjee, Forest Park Elementary (Mrs. Kotcherlakota); Anna Tang, Gomes Elementary (Mrs. Imhof); Ken Williams, Patterson Elementary (Ms. Greenzweig); Christie Chong, Gomes Elementary (Mr. Whiting); Joanna Chen, Pioneer Elementary (Mrs. Markiel); Jason Tsay, Weibel Elementary (Mr. Colglazier); Haarika Kathi, Warm Springs Elementary (Ms. Louie); Caroline Chou, Ardenwood Elementary (Mrs. Baeza); Shubham Gupta, Weibel Elementary (Mr. Colglazier); Diana Fan, Gomes Elementary (Miss Del Pino); Cristal Banh, Pioneer Elementary (Mrs. Markiel); Lesley Lu, Gomes Elementary (Mr. Ashraf).

Slogan Winners
Zachary Fullenwider, Oliveira Elementary (Ms. Kaufman/Mr. Haggans); Lucas De La Vega, Searles Elementary (Mr. Furia); Ayush Gaggar, Durham Elementary (Ms. Yee); Ruchika Agrawal, Gomes Elementary (Ms. Pimentel); Jessica Cheung, Lincoln Elementary (Ms. Rose); Pragathi Shankar, Warwick Elementary (Mrs. Long); Choki Valle, Pioneer Elementary (Mr. Herbert); Lisa Chen, Vallejo Mill Elementary (Mrs. Silvera); Rhea Nayak, Weibel Elementary (Mr. Colglazier); Josh Bains, Christian Community School (Mrs. Hansen); Connor McGarry, Warm Springs Elementary (Mrs. Bridges); Jessica Zheng, Gomes Elementary (Mrs. Allred).

Honorable Mentions
Yixuan Lu, Oliveira Elementary (Ms. Wilson/Mr. Haggans); Tanya Malik, Forest Park Elementary (Ms. Brandon); Wei Xia, Alvarado Elementary School (Mr. Guernsey); Natalie Murai, Chadbourne Elementary (Mrs. Larsen); Meghna Srivastava, Parkmont Elementary (Mr. Benevides); Anjali Iyangar, Oliveira Elementary (Mrs. Ramanathan/Mr. Haggans); Karen Ko, Gomes Elementary (Mr. Whiting); Angela Liu, Chadbourne Elementary (Mrs. Perry); David Lee, Parkmont Elementary (Ms. Hansen); Anna Wadhwa, Mission Valley Elementary (Mrs. Shanteau); Betty Tang, Gomes Elementary (Mrs. Ferreira); Alankrita Dayal, Mission Valley Elementary (Mr. Lee).

To receive a water conservation calendar (while supplies last) or for more information about ACWD education programs, contact Frank Jahn at (510) 668-4209.

Information for this article was supplied by Frank Jahn, ACWD Public Education Specialist.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice